Friday, October 29, 2004

Whiting Awards Announced
The Whiting Writers' Awards, given to "emerging writers of exceptional talent and promise" were announced yesterday. The Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation has awarded approximately ten $35,000 awards per year to writers, poets, playwrights and non-fiction writers for twenty years. This year's winners include Daniel Alarco´n, author of the forthcoming short-story collection War by Candlelight, Victor LaValle, author of The Ecstatic, and Allison Glock for her memoir, Beauty Before Comfort.

No comments:

Post a Comment